Meeting Joe Strummer

23 Dec

I posted this on MYSPACE a few years ago (lmao!!) so i thought i would repost it here:

The Clash has always been one of the major soundtracks of my life. I never got to see them play live so when the chance to see joe strummer and the mescaleros at the house of blues in anaheim came about i was down. Seeing joe strummer on stage with all the same energy of clash footage from years past was awesome..but i never thought we would run into an old friend of Boxer’s that would take us backstage. I have met and know alot of people in entertainment so i have never been one to get starstruck but being inches away from joe strummer left me speechless..he and boxer were talking about some tour they were on together in italy while i stood listening to them. Joe strummer saw me and asked boxer: “arent you going to introduce us?” and then he politely shook my hand. we stayed backstage drinking beers and hanging out for what felt like hours but was probably just an hour and a half. forever etched in my mind will be joe strummer listening (no really FEELING the music- eyes shut head shaking) to music blaring out of a boom box, drinking a glass of red wine..talking about the magic of reggae. Feeling the sweat soaked wetness of his shirt as he handed it to me and asked me to put it under the chair i was sitting in…how fucking NICE and down to earth he was. no attitude no rock star persona- he was just chillin listening to some nobody girl’s demo tape and tripping on the fact that manic hispanic would do a cover of one of his clash songs..he was amazing in the few minutes our paths crossed and i am so glad i had the privelege of meeting him that night..

Later that summer i took my little boy to the hootenanny and it was so cool to watch him recognize the clash songs and sing along..his first show he was able to see joe strummer- how awesome is that? esp. when a few months later joe passed away. my kid doesnt know it now but he is one of the few 6 year olds that when he is older can say he saw a legend perform.

You will be forever missed.

One Response to “Meeting Joe Strummer”

  1. Stephen Francoeur December 23, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Awesome story. That’s great that you took your son! The Clash is my all time favorite band that’s kept my interest ever since I first heard a song of theirs in 78 or 79. Although I did see the Clash play live, I can’t say that really was the “The Clash.” The show was in 1985 in Sunrise, Florida. Mick and Topper were already gone, and the band was promoting their weakest (by far) album, Cut the Crap.

    I think it’s about time that I load up my boys’ MP3 player with some nuggets from each album.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,241 other followers

